First Necrons off the Line

Some pictures of my Necron warband project.  First completed unit and a test piece using HeroQuest Skeletons.  I had never known what to do with those rather over the top skeleton models until this project.  The goofy over the top grim reaper kind of works for me given the B-Movie-esque nature of the figures.

4 Responses to “First Necrons off the Line”

  1. I was working on that Necron warrior model over the last week actually, almost fifteen years after we got them on the cover of White Dwarf.

    Thats a fun use for the Heroquest skeletons. A tiny bit more tweaking, maybe some sort of shoulder armour to tie it in with the androids and “proper” warrior might be worth while maybe.

    Whats next for the skelebots?

  2. Yes it takes about 15 years for us to get around to the average mini on Monte Figero it seems 🙂

    The HeroQuest skeleton was a sort of an afterthought as I was preping the Necrons. I just added on a few bits of wire so I could get a general idea of what it would look like if I was to invest a little more time in them. They turned out a lot better than I envisioned really.

    Your suggestion of shoulder armour would be best way to tie them in with the others all right. I also toyed with the idea of scuplting on some skin, some robes, modifying the legs with putty a bit, more wire and stuff etc.
    I also figure that if you remove the bottom legs and replace it with a large snake like guitar wire style bottom they could look interesting.

    Funny how you hold on to models for years thinking that you will most likely never find a use for them until they work well for some other quite unrelated project. The moral is definately to hoard everthing on Monte Figero until someone has a good idea what to do with it 😉

    Next Necron project effort will have to be the Lord as I need some kind of Eeevilll personality to lead them to nefarious misdeeds. After him I will do the old Immortal with some kind of gatling cannon.

    The idea from now on with painting these warbands is to have <= 9 basic troops, some kind of minor unit leader type, a main character and one or two other minor characters at most.

    I want to do some work on a retro Imperial Guard warband in a similar vein to get an equivalent force for some small scale skirmish games. They will have a squad of 10, an Ogryn, a Commisarr (or other officer and some support weapons). I have nearly completed the Ogryn so pics to follow for tomorrow.

  3. “The idea from now on with painting these warbands is to have <= 9 basic troops, some kind of minor unit leader type, a main character and one or two other minor characters at most."

    That is exactly what I aim for, but I always go way over that in terms of numbers planned (if not always finished). I find it hard to trim it back. My recent space dwarf/squats are an example of that, although I managed to stick to 11 models for my veer-myn/space skaven.

    The absolute clincher for me these days is that if I want to paint up a batch of *anything*, then it is absolutely imperative that the scheme is quick to produce. Its hard enough getting the things dont without making things difficult with colour combinations etc that are laborious to paint. Silver Necrons are perfect in other words.

    Its good to see some more warband sized 40k projects take shape. Keep it up and 2013 could be satisfyingly Rogue Trader retro. We need a Rogue Trader and Inquisitor or two. A handful of Sororitas would be cool too.

    • Well it is always good to have a few more models in a given warband to allow mix and match flavour for a given scenario.

      Quick schemes are definately a must, I have found that silver features strongly now in most of my batch models projects, in fact my Guard now feature it and my Tau liikewise. The Slann have complex colours and it is painstaking to actually finish even a couple of models. I have the last two nearly done for weeks, just hard to get up the enthusiasm to spend 2 hours to finish them!

      The more time comitted to painting a given figure the longer it takes to decide to draw a line under your work and finish it off. Better to not spend so much time on the initial effort in the first place!

Leave a Reply

