WIP – Building an Ork Hulk for Man O’War

Well it’s not really for Man O’War as none of my regular gaming buddies actually play that game anymore but it won’t stop me from having a go at scratch building an Ork ship.

A work in progress shot of the Ork Hulk

A work in progress shot of the Ork Hulk

This model is made entirely from bits of balsa, some very (paper) thin wood from the modelling shop (which I have found to be marvelous for building ship models), bits of plasticard tubing and copper wire (for the cannon), chamois leather (for the sails) and a wodden barbeque stick (central mast).  The whole thing is stuck together with copius, copius amounts of super glue.  I probably scraped 20ml of the stuff off my fingers during the build!

This is still WIP as I have not finished the paintjob to my satisfaction just yet – this one is a labour of love after all rather than necessarily a gaming piece.  I think you will agree that it also needs a black flag on the crows nest proudly displaying the “Jolly Ork”.

Waiting to fly the Jolly Ork!

Waiting to fly the Jolly Ork!

Design wise I choose to base the concept on the ship being more like an Ork version of the Empire Greatship rather than the direction GW took with the Orks in Man O’War.  The Ork fleetlist for that game was very poor with characterised by underpowered ships or ridiculous suicide ships more a danger to the Ork player than the enemy.  The models for their part reflected the pathetic fleet list and most of the ships are reminisant of a floating outhouse.  For some reason the Ork ships were stuck with using catapults which is utterly dull – especially considering that the box art for the game clearly shows Orks crewing a ship with cannon!  If I ever make more models for this fleet with the intention of using it in anger I would use the Empire fleet list and thus am more likely to base any future Ork ships on the Empire designs.  Cannon galleys, mortar galleys and other such goodies are a lot more appealing for some Orky modeling.

An Imperial Guardsman inspects detail of the aftercastle (or aftcastle)

An Imperial Guardsman inspects detail of the aftercastle (or aftcastle)

Imperial Wargalley and Ork Hulk size comparison

Imperial Wargalley and Ork Hulk size comparison

I will add some better pictures of this when I finish it off in the next couple of weeks.  I also made some Brettonion Corsairs from scratch which I will blog up whenever I get the nautical modeling urge to complete them.

Leave a Reply

