Sculpting a Venator Head

Things have been quiet on this blog of late, but rest assured valued reader for my time has been spent in worthwhile figure related endeavors.  I have been working on a couple of things at once (in my usual ADHD fashion) as enthusiasm grips me.  At least some of these projects will come to fruition in the coming weeks, I swear. 😉

This is a series of shots I have been taking over the last week of a head sculpt I am working on for Asslessman, a chap who frequents the Oldhammer Forum.  He mentioned that he was looking to get some suitable heads to create a Venator gang for Necromunda – Venators are basically bounty hunters.  This is a perfect project for a budding sculptor as it is small, self contained in scope, and it’s relatively easy to sculpt due to the caricature nature of the subject matter.

The source material is this John Blanch illustration (Copyright GW and used without permission for illustrative purposes, natch):

John Blanche - Confrontation

IMG_9101 IMG_9102 IMG_9103 IMG_9104 IMG_9100 IMG_9099 IMG_9098 IMG_9129 IMG_9130 IMG_9134 IMG_9132 IMG_9136 IMG_9138 IMG_9142 IMG_9147 IMG_9148 IMG_9165 IMG_9163 IMG_9164

A fair bit done and a fair bit more to go!

8 Responses to “Sculpting a Venator Head”

  1. Good stuff! That looks really nice. Its quite fun that its a Confrontation design too. It doesnt get much more Oldhammer than that 🙂

    Do you have a link to the thread?

  2. This just too great, my limited skills won’t allow me to return the favor but be assured I’ll do my best to make the best Venator gang I can !

  3. That’s really nice to see the stages of the sculpting as it goes from the ‘green sausages’ look to increasingly smooth (though of course my own attempts only ever get to the ‘green blob’ step). I will look forward to seeing more of this.

    The fact that it’s a project about Confrontation only makes it better. I loved playing that half-system with cobbled together rules for the bits that were never published. What’s not to like about a game where there are six different damage tables, four of the functionally identical (i.e. your gang member is dead whatever you roll).

    • Hey Argentbadger, this is a good article and required reading for epoxy sculpting:
      http://www.bananaking.net/cento/workshop/conv_green.htm

      Confrontation was a strange bird indeed being between an RPG and a skirmish game. I only played it a couple of times myself but it was the setting that captured the imagination rather than the ruleset. There was definitely fun potential in there though. The Venators never got a decent run in the Necromunda game so it is nice to revisit John Blanche’s concepts.

Leave a Reply

