Imperial Ork

I have been a little lazy on the posting front of late, but rest assured loyal readers that I have not been idle!   Here is a little creation I have wanted to do for more years than I can care to remember.  Presenting the proto-Imperial Ork:

 

Imperial Ork

Imperial Ork

Imperial Ork - rear detail

Imperial Ork – rear detail

Imperial Ork beside Imperial Guardsman

Imperial Ork beside Imperial Guardsman

Imperial Ork - without the shoota

Imperial Ork – without the shoota

 

The 1989th - valuing diversity and the violence it empowers

The 1989th – valuing diversity and the violence it empowers

More ass shots

More ass shots

And from the side

And from the side

Now this is very much still a work in progress, as there is a good bit more work to do before I consider the project a success.  The parts are designed to be compatible with the “Standard Orkoid Template” (SOT) as I may see fit to actually cast them up for a  small number of interested parties – can’t see much demand for them myself, it’s a pretty specialized concept.  Obviously the face is a GW part and will be replaced by a suitable Ork mug of my own devising and the arms and legs will get a more appropriately uniformed look.  But compatibility with other ranges is key here, creativity to the modeler and painter must be afforded in the design, and some people will prefer the “Rico’s Roughnecks” look of this bare armed guy – he does look badass!  I am looking forward to creating more bits and bobs for these chaps.  They have some serious Rough Rider potential so expect to see one with an Aussie style cowboy hat.  Goggles will pretty much be de rigeur for these boyz. but expect some variation in goggle design largely because I love sculpting goggles – blame World of Warcraft for that.

Unpainted glory front

Unpainted glory front

Unpainted glory rear

Unpainted glory rear

The greens look like this at the moment:

 

Torso Front

Torso Front

Legs Rear

Legs Rear

Legs Front

Legs Front

Torso Rear

Torso Rear

 

Greens showing helmet

Greens showing helmet

Of course the other thing they need are some suitable kustom laser guns – the human versions are far too weedy and safe for these guys.

17 Responses to “Imperial Ork”

  1. mrsaturdays Says:

    Super sweet Sean. The greens look really good too. I’m awash with nostalgia. Looking forward to seeing your Orkified las guns.

    • Cheers Dave. Should be interesting building them. Never tried it before. Think kustom shootas meets old lasguns and you will have a similar mental image to me. Probably some scope for cross-pollination with your Greenstealers.

  2. Oh my ! Thpose are sweet ! I have to say the zipper on the ork jacket is th elittle refinment touch that makes it ace!

    Can’t wait to see your own heads on those bodies. You have just crossed a step in our hobby? Having our own multipart kits to play with is definitely a common dream.

    • Thanks JB. Multipart kits are great things. Part of the fun of designing parts for them is that you never know what someone else will come up with from the parts. Will be good to get them up to production standard to see what happens to the bits.

  3. Amazing, Orko’s Roughnecks baby! Now I wanna go watch the animated Rough necks series, they have walkers.. so Orky Sentials please boss!

    • Funnily enough I have some Orky sentinels in my old 3rd Ed 40K Competition army! I am in the process of re-fitting one of them into a regular Sentinel for the 1989th – got the driver done up with a classic head painted already and everything. You have given me an ace idea though, why not keep an Ork version for the 1989th, hell I will even name him Chiork Goatork in yer honour!

  4. Badass Sean, that guy is brilliant. It’s cool to see this multicultural, marginally more tolerant corner of the 41st Millenium grow.

    Niche market it may be, but the “small number of interested parties” should form an orderly queue. Behind me, obviously 😉

  5. Im painting one of these at the moment:

    Its pretty much perfect as a Kommissork I reckon, as long as you dont have a thing about only using Citadel. If you do then those old early RT guys with the caps are full of character too.

    An Imperial Ork medic or other oddboy instead might give better return on time invested, but whatever turns your crank obviously. Making ork concepts Imperial strikes me as more entertaining, although an ork tech priest has had me thinking all week. Still, a body with a vaguely Imperial looking cuirass would allow for simple variations to make a command squad…

    Incidentally, I dont expect a handout Sean. You will get enough teef to cover your costs if you get them to production, cottage industry or otherwise.

    Cool stuff all round 🙂

    • mrsaturdays Says:

      Same here, I’ll cross your palm with molars.

    • Lucky you gave me that chap recently. You are onto somefink with the Cuirass, that’s a great idea. I can easily knock up a “blank of icons” Cuirass torso and mod on from that. I have a hankering to do an officer standing at ease with the chest out and hands clasped firmly behind his back with the traditional peaked cap and goggles and the Cuirass is a necessity for that one. He should have the usual level of arrogant poise expected of Imperial officers. I could branch out into the Orkderly, Medork and other command models from that easy enough.

  6. This stuff is fantastic. I could see them being used for a “proper” Blood Axe force, and they’re also perfect for some of the character models in Rogue Trader RPG – where you can actually have an Imperial Ork in a Rogue Trader’s retinue…

    • Yes I had not really considered using him in an Inquisitor style warband but he would fit in with a radical ordo xenos type nicely. I will come back to this guy soonish. I am in one of those trying to paint modes at the moment in an effort to finish off a unit of Lizardmen for the Slann…you know how it is ;).

Leave a Reply

