Southlander Dog of War

 

A Perry Mounted Men at Arms combined with a Perry Mahdist Ansar head painted for the Fantasy 100 club on the Oldhammer forum.

BlackKnight1

I have been spending too long on painting recently so I set myself the challenge of painting this in one sitting to a good tabletop standard. Good way to test paint a figure when you are planning for an army I have found.

BlackKnight2

might do another 5 of these guys and add some kind of shield to them to Warhammer them up a little.  Historically shields were fairly old hat by the time armour of this style had developed as gunpowder weapons were a common thing by then.  Shields are a good way to bring some interesting animal print onto this model to reinforce the idea of him being a gent from the southlands of the Warhammer world.

 

BlackKnight4That’s all for now. 🙂

 

4 Responses to “Southlander Dog of War”

  1. Great model, I’m looking forward to the whole unit. I never manage to finish anything in one sitting, let alone to such a standard. This has me tempted to start my Renaissance style Tilean Dogs of War pikemen regiment.

    • Thanks Subedai. 🙂

      I was up late working on him bleary eyed by the end! 😉

      Probably about 5 hours work start to finish. I did the glueing and filing preparation the previous night I should mention, with my level of procrastination, the prep took almost as long as the paint job!

      I find the Perry plastics to be good miniatures for painting quickly with simple drybrush and wash techniques. I am looking forward to doing a lot more troops from their range this year.

  2. He’s come up fantastically well. Almost enough to make me open up and start on my own Men at Arms. I very much like your bronze armour effect.

Leave a Reply

