Cold Blooded Killers

28mm, Fantasy, Slann, Warhammer Fantasy

Finally made some headway with the Lizardmen, huzzah!  This selection of 14 models will be added to the previous 10 Lizardmen I painted earlier on in the project.  Mr. Saturday was kind enough to supply me with a bunch of these classic citadel plastics which I think fit in a lot more nicely with the Oldhammer vibe than the current range of  Lizardmen – who look like bobblehead dinosaurs to me.   They fit in nicely with the Bob Olley venerables which I had  painted previously.  So that makes for 24 Lizardmen….which is too many really.  So with 24 of them done I now plan to take the biggest 4 lizardmen from Bob Olley and rebase them on a 40mm square base to make me some Troglodytes.

Lizardmen Warriors

Lizardmen Warriors

 

The keen eyed among you will note the presence of a Snakeman in there.  It’s great to be able to work in a classic and unusual model like this fellow.  I think the original model had a little damage on the neck but I just painted over it and made it a feature rather than do complex green stuff restoration.  Of note also is the use of parts from the Savage Ork kit.  I thought that the original weapons were a little on the weedy side for double handed weapons or spears.  The aesthetic is somewhat shifted to modern with these conversions but then that’s me, one foot in the past and one in the present, like a navy seal carrying a broadsword.  The effect of using the oversized weapons is to make the Lizardmen feel crazy strong like this chap mightily wielding a massive polystyrene boulder against the greatest actor in the world:

A Gorn from Star Trek The Original Series - and if by some miracle he happens to be reading, f*** you J.J. Abrams, or "The Butcher of Star Trek" as  I choose to refer to you as, although I am sure that will be changed to a more generic "The Butcher of the Stars" when you butcher Star Wars.

A Gorn from Star Trek The Original Series – and if by some miracle he happens to be reading, f*** you J.J. Abrams, or “The Butcher of Star Trek” as I choose to refer to you as, although I am sure that will be changed to a more generic “The Butcher of the Stars” when you butcher Star Wars.

I used the weapons, along with the hands in many cases.  There is a difference in size between the hands but I doubt you noticed that.  I opted to paint the flint stone weapons black and then highlight the extreme edges and gloss varnish the blade.  This is to give the impression of them being made of obsidian (volcanic glass) rather than stone.  And to finish up (and keep Cheetor happy) here is what they might look like in a skirmish based system:

Lizardmen in a dispersed formation more suited for Sci-Fi gaming

Lizardmen in a dispersed formation more suited for Sci-Fi gaming

So next up with these guys is to make them a movement tray and amalgamate them with their scaly brothers.  I may add some shields from the savage ork kit at a later time – did I mention how much I like that kit?

 

L8RS