Blood for Da Baron

28mm, Da Red Shadowz, Orks, Space Orks, Warhammer 40K

Test model for a future force of Orks…Da Red Shadowz.

 

Red Shadow Ork

Red Shadow Ork

The Red Shadows were the main bad guys in the Action Force comics when I were a lad, and the uniform always made an impression.

The Red Shadows toys

The Red Shadows toys

 

The toys were made from the same moulds as for Wermacht infantry with a change of head and thus they are relatively easy to convert from any german uniformed model.  Luckily enough Games Workshop used to make an ork stormboy dressed in a Wermacht uniform, I doubt they will ever make models like these ever again.

Un-politically correct stormboys

Un-politically correct stormboys

Various people have done conversions like this one, and the best ones I am aware of are at: http://actionforcevsredshadows.blogspot.ie/

To my knowledge I am the first one to attempt to marry the GW model with the Red Shadows conversion idea.  Here are a couple of more angles.

Side view showing green stuff work to make sleeves with cuffs from 2nd Editon GW Ork arms

Side view showing green stuff work to make sleeves with cuffs from 2nd Editon GW Ork arms

I have avoided to use of hilights here, just a simple ink wash for some definition, as I want to carry over the look from the toys.

The face mask is flat and devoid of detail, the eyes are simply painted on, just like the toys

The face mask is flat and devoid of detail, the eyes are simply painted on, just like the toys

I just painted the attachment point for the jump pack black like a backpack. I could add a skull and crossbones to this later…perhaps.

Rear view showing the attachment point for a jump pack

Rear view showing the attachment point for a jump pack

I will do at least another 4 of these fellows, and a halftrack.  I will use the Nob from the stormboyz above to represent the Black Major.  No doubt I will inevitably get around to doing the other toys from the range.

14 thoughts on “Blood for Da Baron

  1. this is a cool nicely executed idea! I love little crossover projects, though the only one i’ve done was a silly idea of painting grots like the pikachu pokemon, which I feel kinda worked too. look forward to you completing your unit.

    1. Cheers Paul. I am looking forward to doing Da Major – he was always the coolest bad guy, always the last survivor guy sneaking away at the end with his betraying ways.

      1. It the “matter of fact” way that guys like that pursue their cowardly, duplicitous retreats that endears them I think. I imagine that the Major has “Spineless Withdrawal: 4.30pm” in his diary. The bastard.

  2. Best. Idea. Ever. I love them! 😀 This only makes me hate you and scream ‘how on earth didn’t I had this idea before’ 😀
    Seriousy, great work, I’m looking forward to see more 🙂

  3. Ork nazi ninjas… I sometimes feel us french have been forgotten when cool stuff was distributed… Never heard of this (only knew of GI Joe) but this is seriously cool.

    1. These were kinda an ‘UK franchise’ or GIJoe. Or maybe it was just the opposite, I believe ‘Action Force’ was developed first. If you look at them, these Orks are what we know as Crimson Guards.

      1. Yep pretty much what Suber says. Action Force was a brand of European action figures initially based on Action Man in the 1980s. It was also used to introduce G.I. Joe: A Real American Hero toys to European markets.

Leave a comment