Knavecon Sheep

28mm, Casting, Creatures, Fantasy, Sculpting, Warhammer 40K, Warhammer Fantasy

I figured it’s high time I followed up on the sheep I made for our Oldhammer game at Knavecon 2014.  Here they are in all their painted glory:

Baaaaaaaa!

Baaaaaaaa!

And this was the original green for the little fellow.

The green

The green

And with a slightly more careful paint job, the final ones got a pretty flat, devoid of highlights and shading paint job in the end:

A nicely painted prototype

A nicely painted prototype

Here is a scale comparison with my favourite scaling model.  As you can see they have been designed for the smaller people of miniature gaming (such as halflings), with an emphasis on cuteness over realism:

One of the Emperors finest protects His flock from the predations of xenos scum

One of the Emperors finest protects His flock from the predations of xenos scum

They may someday even be used as nasties in a killer sheep scenario….

And remember RT aficionados, do not underestimate a sadistic GM

And remember RT aficionados you may think you are save but do not underestimate a sadistic GM

The final part of this project will be to take 2 of the little blighters and re-sculpt the legs to look like they are being carried and then send them along to the next stage in the production line to Mr. Saturday who will proceed to incorporate them into a commemorative fimir raider model to mark the convention.

10 thoughts on “Knavecon Sheep

  1. These are so wonderfully whimsical. Exactly what I am looking for. I want two dozen. No. I need two dozen. Please tell me that you have them available for purchase. Thanks.

    1. Hi Richard, I sculpted those guys and created the mould for them, the problem with them is that the legs didn’t come out due to a design issue with venting the mould properly and so were pretty tedious to put together as I had to cast feet and attach to each one. I should really just modify the original a little bit and try to recast it in RTV silicon…..watch this space I guess.

Leave a comment